2020: year of the Independent Team surge

As we know, Jerez was dominated by one man: Fabio Quartararo. The Petronas Yamaha SRT squad enjoyed a brilliant MotoGP™ debut season in 2019 and although title aspirations fell by the wayside in 2020, they’ve won six of the 14 races this season. Quartararo’s two in Jerez and one in Barcelona, and Franco Morbidelli’s San Marino, Teruel and Valencia five-star performances. Add Oliveira’s double to the equation and Independent Teams have won over half the races (8) in 2020. Impressive.