Monster Energy Supercross – Historical Notes Package AT&T Stadium, Arlington, TX

Monster Energy SX_021716

Monster Energy Supercross has been competing in the Dallas area since 1975, the second year of the championship.

The championship was hosted at Texas Stadium, in Irving, on 28 occasions from 1975-2008 before moving to the state-of-the-art AT&T Stadium, in Arlington, in 2009.

In total, a stop in North Texas has been on the schedule in 36 of the 43 years of Monster Energy Supercross. The Dallas area has been a part of the championship longer than any other active stadium location.

With it’s immense size, seating capacity of 80,000 and what was once the largest high-definition television screen in the world, AT&T Stadium is one of the world’s modern marvels.

450SX Class Stats:

2015 Podium: Ryan Dungey, Ken Roczen, Trey Canard

The first 450SX Class race held in North Texas was on February 28, 1975. Jimmy Ellis won on a Can-Am. It was Can-Am’s first ever 450SX Class victory. Ellis gave Can-Am all of its seven 450SX Class wins.

Since 1983 there has been a 450SX Class in North Texas every season except 2009.

North Texas hosted the final win for three riders: Mike Bell (1983), David Bailey (1986), and Jeff Emig (1997).

In 1977 the Dallas Supercross had nine different brands in the top 20: Bultaco, Honda, Husqvarna, Kawasaki, Maico, Ossa, Penton, Suzuki, and Yamaha. Can-Am’s Ellis did not qualify for the race, which would have made it 10.

Chad Reed has the most 450SX Class wins in North Texas with four.

Dungey is looking to become the eighth rider to win back-to-back races in North Texas.

The winner in North Texas has gone on to win the 450SX Class Championship 15 times in 35 races, including three of the last four seasons and four of the previous six seasons.

Both Ricky Carmichael and Jeremy McGrath won just two times in North Texas.

All-Time Wins in Arlington

Chad Reed – 4
Rick Johnson – 3
James Stewart – 3
Damon Bradshaw – 2
Ricky Carmichael – 2
Ryan Dungey – 2
Jimmy Ellis – 2
Jeremy McGrath – 2
Ryan Villopoto – 2
Kevin Windham – 2

All-Time Wins by Brand in Arlington (last win)

Honda: 13 (2011)
Yamaha: 9 (2008)
Kawasaki: 8 (2013)
Can-Am: 2 (1976)
Suzuki: 2 (2014)
KTM: 1 (2015)

Brand Sweeps in Arlington (450SX & 250SX)

1986: Honda – David Bailey & Keith Turpin
1987: Honda – Rick Johnson & Kyle Lewis
1993: Honda – Jeremy McGrath & Doug Henry
2002: Honda – Ricky Carmichael & Travis Preston
2005: Kawasaki – James Stewart & Grant Langston
2007: Kawasaki – James Stewart & Ben Townley
2010: Suzuki – Ryan Dungey & Blake Baggett
2013: Kawasaki – Ryan Villopoto & Dean Wilson
2015: KTM – Ryan Dungey & Marvin Musquin

Riders to Win in Both Classes in Arlington

Doug Henry
Mike LaRocco
Jeremy McGrath
James Stewart
Ryan Villopoto
Kevin Windham

First Time Winners in Arlington

1975: Jimmy Ellis
1990: Jean-Michel Bayle
1995: Doug Henry
2005: James Stewart

Past Winners in Arlington

1975: Jimmy Ellis, Can-am
1976: Jimmy Ellis, Can-am
1977: Bob Hannah, Yamaha
1983: Mike Bell, Yamaha
1984: Johnny O’Mara, Honda
1985: Rick Johnson, Yamaha
1986: David Bailey, Honda
1987: Rick Johnson, Honda
1988: Rick Johnson, Honda
1989: Jeff Ward, Kawasaki
1990: Jean-Michel Bayle, Honda
1991: Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha
1992: Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha
1993: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1994: Mike LaRocco, Kawasaki
1995: Doug Henry, Honda
1996: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1997: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki
1998: Ezra Lusk, Honda
1999: Kevin Windham, Honda
2000: Kevin Windham, Honda
2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki
2002: Ricky Carmichael, Honda
2003: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2004: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2005: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2006: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2007: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2008: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2010: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
2011: Trey Canard, Honda
2012: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2013: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2014: James Stewart, Suzuki
2015: Ryan Dungey, KTM

250SX Class Stats

2015 Podium: Marvin Musquin, Justin Bogle, Joey Savatgy

The first 250SX Class race held in North Texas was on May 4, 1985. Bobby More won the race on a Suzuki. It was his first-career win.

KTM won its first-ever Monster Energy Supercross race in Dallas 2001. It was also Grant Langston’s first career 250SX Class victory.

North Texas was where Ryan Villopoto earned his first career win, in his seventh-career start.

Adam Cianciarulo won his first career Monster Energy Supercross start inside AT&T Stadium.

Only three riders have more than one win in North Texas: Grant Langston, Jeremy McGrath, and Dean Wilson. McGrath won back-to-back in ’91-’92. Langton’s wins came four years apart.

The winner of the 250SX Class race in Dallas went on to win their 250SX Class Regional Championship in 18 of 30 seasons. It has only happened in two of the previous eight seasons though.

All-Time Wins in Arlington

Grant Langston – 2
Jeremy McGrath – 2
Dean Wilson – 2

All-Time Wins by Brand in Arlington (last win)

Kawasaki: 11 (’14 last win)
Honda: 7 (’12 last win)
Suzuki: 6 (’10 last win)
Yamaha: 4 (’00 last win)
KTM: 2 (’15 last win)

First Time Winners in Arlington

1985: Bobby Moore
1988: Ty Davis
2006: Ryan Villopoto
2010: Blake Baggett
2014: Adam Cianciarulo

Past Winners in Arlington

1985: Bobby Moore, Suzuki
1986: Keith Turpin, Honda
1987: Kyle Lewis, Honda
1988: Ty Davis, Suzuki
1989: Mike LaRocco, Yamaha
1990: Denny Stephenson, Suzuki
1991: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1992: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1993: Doug Henry, Honda
1994: Jimmy Button, Suzuki
1995: Damon Huffman, Suzuki
1996: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1997: Kevin Windham, Yamaha
1998: John Dowd, Yamaha
1999: Nathan Ramsey, Kawasaki
2000: Greg Schnell, Yamaha
2001: Grant Langston, KTM
2002: Travis Preston, Honda
2003: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2004: Ivan Tedesco, Kawasaki
2005: Grant Langston, Kawasaki
2006: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2007: Ben Townley, Kawasaki
2008: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2010: Blake Baggett, Suzuki
2011: Dean Wilson, Kawasaki
2012: Justin Barcia, Honda
2013: Dean Wilson, Kawasaki
2014: Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki
2015: Marvin Musquin, KTM