Monster Energy Supercross – Historical Notes Package Georgia Dome, Atlanta, GA

Monster Energy SX_022416

Atlanta has been a part of Monster Energy Supercross for 39 seasons.

From 1977 to 1992 the Atlanta Supercross was held at Fulton County Stadium. There were no races in 1987 and 1988. It moved to its current home, the Georgia Dome, in 1993.

In 2013 the Georgia Dome was the site of the largest recorded attendance in Monster Energy Supercross history, 71,009 fans.

In 2015 Atlanta hosted back-to-back races for the first time in history. It became the ninth city to host multiple races in one season.

450SX Class Stats:

2015 Atlanta Feb. 21 Podium: Chad Reed, Ryan Dungey, Trey Canard
2015 Atlanta Feb. 28 Podium: Ryan Dungey, Eli Tomac, Trey Canard

The first 450SX Class race held in Atlanta was on March 5, 1977. Bob Hannah won the race on a Yamaha. It was his first career win.

This will be the 39th time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in Atlanta.

During a three-year string of Atlanta wins, Damon Bradshaw won the last 450SX Class race at Fulton County Stadium in 1992. He went on to win the first 450SX Class race at the Georgia Dome in 1993. It was his final supercross victory.

Three riders have won three in a row in Atlanta. Bradshaw (’91-’93), Jeremy McGrath (’98-’00) and Ricky Carmichael (’01-’03). No rider has won consecutive races since Carmichael in ’05-’06.

Carmichael is the only rider with multiple win streaks in Atlanta, winning five of six races from ’01-’06.

Chad Reed won his 44th career 450SX Class Main Event at the first Atlanta race last season at the age of 32. He is the oldest full-time rider in Monster Energy Supercross.

Georgia native Davi Millsaps won his first career 450SX Class Main Event in Atlanta in 2008.

The winner in Atlanta has went on to capture the championship in 21 of 28 seasons, including 10 consecutive seasons from ’98-’07.

All-Time Wins in Atlanta

Jeremy McGrath – 5
Ricky Carmichael – 5
Bob Hannah – 3
Mark Barnett – 3
Damon Bradshaw – 3
James Stewart – 3
Ryan Dungey – 3
Chad Reed – 2

All-Time Wins by Brand in Atlanta (last win)

Yamaha: 11 (2009)
Honda: 10 (2008)
Kawasaki: 8 (2015)
Suzuki: 6 (2013)
KTM: 3 (2015)

Brand Sweeps in Atlanta (450SX & 250SX)

1985: Kawasaki – Mark Barnett & Eddie Warren
1986: Honda – Rick Johnson & Keith Turpin
1997: Kawasaki – Damon Huffman & Ricky Carmichael
1998: Honda – Davi Millsaps & Trey Canard
1999: Jeremy McGrath & Ernesto Fonseca
2000: Jeremy McGrath & Stephane Roncada
2015: Ryan Dungey & Marvin Musquin

Riders to Win in Both Classes in Atlanta

Damon Bradshaw
Ricky Carmichael
Ryan Dungey
Chad Reed
James Stewart

First Time Winners in Atlanta

1977: Bob Hannah
1980: Chuck Sun
1989: Jeff Stanton
1997: Damon Huffmn
2008: Davi Millsaps

Past Winners in Atlanta

1977- Bob Hannah; Yamaha
1978- Marty Tripes; Honda
1979- Bob Hannah; Yamaha
1980- Chuck Sun; Honda
1981- Mark Barnett; Suzuki
1982- Bob Hannah; Yamaha
1983- Mark Barnett; Suzuki
1984- Johnny O’Mara; Honda
1985- Mark Barnett; Kawasaki
1986- Rick Johnson; Honda
1989- Jeff Stanton; Honda
1990- Jeff Ward; Kawasaki
1991- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha
1992- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha
1993- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha
1994- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
1995- Mike LaRocco; Kawasaki
1996-Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
1997- Damon Huffman; Kawasaki
1998- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
1999- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
2000- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
2001- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki
2002- Ricky Carmichael; Honda
2003- Ricky Carmichael; Honda
2004- Chad Reed; Yamaha
2005- Ricky Carmichael; Suzuki
2006- Ricky Carmichael; Suzuki
2007- James Stewart; Kawasaki
2008- Davi Millsaps; Honda
2009- James Stewart; Yamaha
2010- Ryan Dungey; Suzuki
2011- Ryan Villopoto; Kawasaki
2012- Ryan Dungey; KTM
2013- James Stewart; Suzuki
2014- Ken Roczen; KTM
2015- Chad Reed; Kawasaki
2015- Ryan Dungey; KTM

250SX Class Stats:

2015 Atlanta Feb. 21 Podium: Jeremy Martin, Marvin Musquin, Justin Bogle
2015 Atlanta Feb. 28 Podium: Marvin Musquin, Jeremy Martin, Justin Bogle

The first 250SX Class race held in Atlanta was on February 23, 1985. Eddie Warren won on a Kawasaki. It was his first career win.

This will be the 31st time the gate will drop for a 250SX Class race in Atlanta.

Yamaha had gone 11 seasons without a win in Atlanta before Jeremy Martin’s victory at the first Atlanta race last season.

The same three riders finished on the podium in both Atlanta races last season: Justin Bogle, Jeremy Martin, and Marvin Musquin.

Four riders have won back-to-back 250SX Class races in Atlanta: Brian Swink (’91-’92), Ricky Carmichael (’97-’98), Christophe Pourcel (’09-’10), and Justin Barcia (’11-’12). Those are also the only multiple race winners in the 250SX Class.

In 30 seasons of 250SX Class races in Atlanta, an impressive 12 riders have earned their first career win.

KTM received its first 250SX Class win in Atlanta last season with Musquin’s victory at the second Atlanta race.

All-Time Wins in Atlanta

Justin Barcia – 2
Ricky Carmichael – 2
Christophe Pourcel – 2
Brian Swink – 2

All-Time Wins by Brand in Atlanta (last win)

Kawasaki: 9 (2014)
Honda: 8 (2013)
Yamaha: 8 (2015)
Suzuki: 4 (2007)
KTM: 1 (2015)

First Time Winners in Atlanta

1985: Eddie Warren
1986: Keith Turpin
1990: Denny Stephenson
1993: Doug Henry
1996: John Dowd
1997: Ricky Carmichael
2006: Josh Grant
2007: Ryan Dungey
2008: Trey Canard
2011: Dean Wilson
2013: Wil Hahn
2014: Martin Davalos

Past Winners in Atlanta

1985- Eddie Warren; Kawasaki
1986- Keith Turpin; Honda
1989- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha
1990- Denny Stephenson; Suzuki
1991- Brian Swink; Honda
1992- Brian Swink; Suzuki
1993- Doug Henry; Honda
1994- Ezra Lusk; Suzuki
1995- Mickael Pichon; Suzuki
1996- John Dowd; Yamaha
1997- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki
1998- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki
1999- Ernesto Fonseca; Yamaha
2000- Stephane Roncada; Yamaha
2001- Nathan Ramsey; Yamaha
2002- Chad Reed; Yamaha
2003- Brock Sellards; Yamaha
2004- James Stewart; Kawasaki
2005- Grant Langston; Kawasaki
2006- Josh Grant; Honda
2007- Ryan Dungey; Suzuki
2008- Trey Canard; Honda
2009- Christophe Pourcel; Kawasaki
2010- Christophe Pourcel; Kawasaki
2011- Justin Barcia; Honda
2012- Justin Barcia; Honda
2013- Wil Hahn; Honda
2014- Martin Davalos; Kawasaki
2015- Jeremy Martin; Yamaha
2015- Marvin Musquin; KTM